iMagicSoft Support Forum Index iMagicSoft Support
iMagic Software Support
 
  SearchSearch   RegisterRegister 
 ProfileProfile   Log in to check your private messagesLog in to check your private messages   Log inLog in 

customer info and rate questions

 
Post new topic   Reply to topic    iMagicSoft Support Forum Index -> iMagic Hotel Reservation
View previous topic :: View next topic  
Author Message
imagicsupport
Site Admin


Joined: 16 Dec 2006
Posts: 2316

PostPosted: Sun Jan 06, 2019 7:58 am    Post subject: customer info and rate questions Reply with quote

Hello.

Just a question about when we enter a new reservation for a guest that has stayed with us before, it calls up all of their reservation info and we have to delete all the reservation items and just keep the address and email part we need. This also causes one person to be in the system so many times. Is there any way to bring up just their contact info, name, address, phones and email address?

And also every year we attempt the room pricing features and with not much success. We currently have each room in the system multiple times and seasonal pricing set up for each one, as we do not assign room numbers so early in the season, for example we have One Room Beachfront Efficiency Unit in there likely 60 times and with each new reservation we just pick one from the list to assign, as we still keep tape charts as our official guide, only using imagic as a means to confirm reservations. Are their simple steps to set up room categories or anything like this?

Thank you, Adrienne
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website
imagicsupport
Site Admin


Joined: 16 Dec 2006
Posts: 2316

PostPosted: Sun Jan 06, 2019 7:59 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Hi Adrienne,

Thanks for the question on guest management and hotel room pricing management.

Let me go through each question:

When you make a new reservation for an existing guest you would want to click on the 'Search' button on 'Step 3 - Customer' to locate the existing guest information. This will then 'link' that reservation with that guest. This is helpful as it saves you from re-entering hotel guest information and also gives you access to various reports. If you don't search and select the existing customer then the system will assume that they are new and create a new entry.

Room pricing isn't enabled by default as it's is an advanced feature so you would need to spend some time setting it up. The default option is that you can assign a price to a room, this is simple to set up and easy to understand. That is you set a price for a room, guests make a booking and that price is applied. It's very simple.

The 'problem' can be that if you have several rooms and you want to adjust the pricing then you have to go through each room in turn and adjust it for every room. If you have several rooms of the same 'type' (ie Single, Double, etc) then you can save the pricing against that type once. Then instead of changing all the 'double room' pricing, you would change the Double Room 'Room Type' pricing and it will automatically be applied to all those rooms. You can enable this feature via Configure > Advanced > Room Pricing Options and checking the 'Enable Room Type Pricing'.

Regards, John
_________________
iMagic Soft Support
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website
imagicsupport
Site Admin


Joined: 16 Dec 2006
Posts: 2316

PostPosted: Tue Jan 08, 2019 6:45 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

As far as the guest stuff though... so when we call up a customer it also calls up their room type, check number, total cost, and all the details...
we just want to call up their name and address and email and phone number...
is there anyway to find just a customer contact info and not their whole reservation? The problem is with all their info that we have to delete all those fields and if we forget one then their old info shows up on their new reservation and it causes confusion... does that make sense?

Thanks, Adrienne
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website
imagicsupport
Site Admin


Joined: 16 Dec 2006
Posts: 2316

PostPosted: Tue Jan 08, 2019 6:47 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Thanks for the reply.

The guest information is what you see when you edit a customer. So if you go to 'View Customers', edit a Customer, it will popup the Customer Details screen. It's those details that are associated with the Customer (name, address, phone, etc). So when you search for a customer on a new booking it will link that information to the booking for you.

The room type, check, total cost, etc. are associated with the Booking only.

To be clear, to make a new booking you would:
1) Click Add Reservation.
2) Enter the dates. Click Next.
3) Select the rooms to book. Click Next.
4) For an existing guest click 'Search' on the 'Step 3 - Customer', or for a new guest enter in the details. Click Next.
5) Enter the payment details. Click Next.
6) Print any confirmation/receipt. Click Confirm.

If you do the above it will just recall the guest information for what you are wanting. If you're not following the process above, then let me know and I can advise. But the above is how you would normally create a new hotel booking. I'm wondering if you're editing an existing booking to create a new booking or something like that?

Regards, John
_________________
iMagic Soft Support
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website
Display posts from previous:   
Post new topic   Reply to topic    iMagicSoft Support Forum Index -> iMagic Hotel Reservation All times are GMT + 8 Hours
Page 1 of 1

 
Jump to:  
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum
iMagic Hotel Reservation home page


Powered by phpBB © 2001, 2005 phpBB Group